Type to search


2023 AMA Supercross & Motocross Rider Numbers


INSTAGRAM | @swapmotolive
INSTAGRAM | @swapmotolivedotcom
INSTAGRAM | @scottmotosports

The American Motorcyclist Association has released the official number list for the 2023 Supercross and Pro Motocross racing series. Competitors have been ranked in relation to their total points scored while competing in the 250 or 450 Classes during the 2022 racing season; the best riders are rewarded with the champion’s number one plate in their respective region, others are allowed the option to pick a “permanent” for the remainder of their career, and most claim their status by whatever two-digits they’ve been assigned by the system.

There were six riders that did not score the minimum points necessary in 2022 but asked to keep their numbers for another year, all of whom were past champions. This list includes Adam Cianciarulo (last points: San Diego SX 2022) Zach Osborne (last points: Thunder Valley MX 2021), Broc Tickle (last points: Salt Lake City Two SX 2021), Chad Reed (last points: Salt Lake City Seven SX 2020), Colt Nichols (crashed out of Heat Race at Anaheim One SX in 2022), and Justin Hill (last points: Salt Lake City Seven SX 2020).

Ryan Dungey, Justin Brayton, Alex Martin, and Chris Blose all declared that 2022 will be their last seasons as full-time races, but none gave up their numbers for the list.

Nate Thrasher is the rider with the lowest new number, as he’s dropped to 29. He opted against taking 13, which the AMA allows out of superstition.

Five riders that made their rookie debut in 2022 will have two-digit numbers in 2023. Nick Romano will be 54, Cullin Park will be 67, Matthew LeBlanc will be 72, Ryder DiFrancesco will be 75, and Kaeden Amerine will be 89.

Active riders that held two-digit numbers in 2022 but did not earn one for 2023 include Coty Schock, Kyle Peters, Josh Osby, Thomas Do, Ramyller Alves, Cedric Soubeyras, Hunter Schlosser, Scott Meshey, Hunter Sayles, Alex Ray, Jacob Runkles, Jace Kessler, Tyler Stepek, and RJ Wageman.

Christian Craig was the only rider to earn a new permanent digit. The 250 West Coast SX champion will run 28, the same number he had in 2022, for the remainder of his pro career. Craig’s looming move to Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing means that he and Malcolm Stewart will be teammates with number in order.

Another pair of teammates with numbers in sequential order will be AEO Powersports riders Derek Kelley (41) and Joshua Varize (42).

Five international racers that did part-time programs in the US did enough to earn a spot on the list: Antonio Cairoli (65), Dylan Walsh (79), Josh Gilbert (82), Josiah Natzke (86), and Guillem Farres (88).

Six riders did enough to go from three digits to two for next year: Marshal Weltin (50), Derek Drake (53), Ryan Breece (61), Carson Brown (64), Tristan Lane (90), Lance Kobusch (95), Devin Harriman (97), and Geran Stapleton (98). 

2023 AMA Supercross & Motocross Rider Numbers

*Career Numbers
**New Career Numbers for 2023

1. Eli Tomac | 450SX & 450MX
1. Jett Lawrence | 250 East SX & 250MX
1. Christian Craig | 250 West SX
*2. Cooper Webb
*3. Eli Tomac
*5. Ryan Dungey
*6. Jeremy Martin
*7. Aaron Plessinger
*9. Adam Cianciarulo
*10. Justin Brayton
*11. Kyle Chisholm
*12. Shane McElrath
*14. Dylan Ferrandis
*15. Dean Wilson
*16. Zach Osborne
*17. Joey Savatgy
*18. Jett Lawrence
*19. Justin Bogle
*20. Broc Tickle
*21. Jason Anderson
*22. Chad Reed
*23. Chase Sexton
*24. RJ Hampshire
*25. Marvin Musquin
*26. Alex Martin
*27. Malcolm Stewart
**28. Christian Craig
29. Nate Thrasher
*30. Jo Shimoda
31. Michael Mosiman
*32. Justin Cooper
33. Pierce Brown
34. Maximus Vohland
35. Seth Hammaker
36. Garrett Marchbanks
37. Brandon Hartranft
38. Jalek Swoll
39. Vince Friese
40. Stilez Robertson
41. Derek Kelley
42. Joshua Varize
43. Levi Kitchen
44. Benny Bloss
*45. Colt Nichols
*46. Justin Hill
47. Fredrik Noren
48. Cameron McAdoo
49. Mitchell Oldenburg
50. Marshal Weltin
*51. Justin Barcia
52. Carson Mumford
53. Derek Drake
54. Nicholas Romano
55. Austin Forkner
56. Enzo Lopes
57. Chris Blose
58. Jordon Smith
59. Robbie Wageman
60. Justin Starling
61. Ryan Breece
62. Jace Owen
63. Max Anstie
64. Carson Brown
65. Antonio Cairoli
66. Henry Miller
67. Cullin Park
68. Cade Clason
69. Phil Nicoletti
70. Justin Rodbell
71. Preston Kilroy
72. Matthew LeBlanc
73. John Short
74. Logan Karnow
75. Ryder DiFrancesco
76. Dominique Thury
77. Ryan Surratt
78. Grant Harlan
79. Dylan Walsh
80. Kevin Moranz
81. Ty Masterpool
82. Josh Gilbert
83. Cole Thompson
84. Mitchell Harrison
85. Dilan Schwartz
86. Josiah Natzke
87.  Chris Canning
88. Guillem Farres
89. Kaeden Amerine
90. Tristan Lane
91. Jeremy Hand
92. Jarrett Frye
93. Jerry Robin
*94. Ken Roczen
95. Lance Kobusch
*96. Hunter Lawrence
97. Devin Harriman
98. Geran Stapleton
99. Hardy Munoz

Michael Antonovich

Michael Antonovich has a wealth of experience with over 10 years of moto-journalism under his belt. A lifelong racing enthusiast and rider, Anton is the Editor of Swapmoto Live and lives to be at the race track.

  • 1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

More To See. Find Something.