Type to search


2023 Dakar Rally | Stage Three Highlights & Results


INSTAGRAM | @dakarrally



Stage Four of the 2023 Dakar Rally was supposed to see competitors run from Alula to Ha’il until heavy rains forced organizers to cut the route down to just 377 kilometers. The abbreviated day had its share of race-deciding moments, as a defending champion was forced to abandon while others pulled ahead ahead in the overall timing.

To some, being sent out first is seen as a punishment. For others, it’s a motivator. Mason Klein falls into the latter category. The BAS World KTM rider seems to thrive when there are no other tire marks to follow and that trait that got him nearly six minutes of bonus time under new rules meant to entice riders to be among the first to the checkpoints. The American is now ranked second overall.

Another podium result (second place, six minutes slower the day’s winner) pushed Skyler Howes up to fourth in the general classification. The Husqvarna Factory Racing rider took the provisional lead through the first checkpoint and was also awarded bonus time for being among the first to check in with the scorers.

Daniel Sanders didn’t get any bonuses for his rip across the rocks and sand, but he was still the fastest of the day and earned the Stage win. The Red Bull GASGAS Factory Racing rider stayed near the front from start to finish, and he’s now ahead by four minutes in the overall times.

Ricky Brabec was on the move early in the Stage and was setting up a run at leaders Sanders, Howes, and Klein (less than ten seconds separated the four riders at the 240 km checkpoint) until a mistake caused the Monster Energy Honda Rally rider to go down. He was tended to by the medical staff for pain in his back and taken to a nearby hospital; despite having no serious injuries or fractures, Brabec was kept for overnight for observation and has withdrawn from the event.

Daniel Sanders | 4:24:15
Skyler Howes | 4:30:34
Mason Klein | 4:31:14
Kevin Benavides | 4:31:38
Joan Barreda | 4:35:44
Toby Price | 4:36:29
Luciano Benavides | 4:38:18
Adrien Van Beveren | 4:39:43
Joaquim Rodrigues | 4:40:20

Daniel Sanders | 14:05:38
Mason Klein | 14:09:42
Kevin Benavides | 14:12:31
Skyler Howes | 14:14:13
Joan Barreda | 14:16:15
Toby Price | 14:16:38
Pablo Quintanilla | 14:22:34
Adrien Van Beveren | 14:27:40
Matthias Walkner | 14:27:40
Ross Branch | 14:29:20

Michael Antonovich

Michael Antonovich has a wealth of experience with over 10 years of moto-journalism under his belt. A lifelong racing enthusiast and rider, Anton is the Editor of Swapmoto Live and lives to be at the race track.

  • 1

You Might also Like