Type to search


2024 Mason-Dixon Park GNCC | Race Report, Results & Recap Video



INSTAGRAM | @gncc_racing
INSTAGRAM | @mooseelite



The Grand National Cross Country Series continued its thirteen-round tour with the 2024 Mason-Dixon Park GNCC. The eighth round, held on the Pennsylvania-West Virginia state lines, once again showed why this season is one of the most best-ever for the East Coast off-road championship , as another three-hour race ended with the front-runners finishing within seconds of each other.

The Progressive Grand National Cross Country (GNCC Racing) Series presented by Specialized, an AMA National Championship concluded its eighth round of racing, Parts Unlimited Mason-Dixon GNCC, on Sunday, June 2, 2024, in Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania. Brief rain showers in the morning created some slick conditions for the first half of the day, but partly cloudy conditions made for some great afternoon battles throughout XC1 Open Pro and 250 Pro Sport classes.

As the afternoon race got under way and the green flag flew for the XC1 Open Pro class it would be Babbitt’s Online/Monster Energy/Kawasaki Team Green’s Lyndon Snodgrass grabbing himself the $250 Steel City Medical Center’s XC1 Holeshot Award. However, as the pack of racers made their way around on the opening lap, Coastal GASGAS Factory Racing’s Jordan Ashburn would find himself holding the lead position.

Snodgrass would battle back with Ashburn for the next couple of laps, swapping the lead position back-and-forth. Ashburn would hold the lead until the fifth lap of the race as Rocky Mountain RedBear Kawasaki’s Steward Baylor would apply the pressure after making his way up through the pack. Baylor made the pass on Ashburn to take over the lead as the white flag came out indicating one more lap. 

Nevertheless, the hard-charging FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Johnny Girroir would apply the pressure on the last lap. Girroir would catch Baylor and battle for the last a little over a mile to the finish line. Girroir would come through to edge out Baylor for his third overall win of the season. Baylor would hold on and come through to earn second overall on the day. 

Coming through to earn third overall from the XC2 250 Pro class was FMF KTM Factory Racing Landers Grant Davis. After grabbing the $250 Steel City Medical Center Holeshot Award, Davis would battle throughout the race with his teammate FMF KTM Factory Racing Landers Angus Riordan. Davis and Riordan would swap the lead position and hold the overall lead with adjusted times for the first half of the race. Davis would be able to make his way back around Riordan and push towards the front as he crossed the finish line first in his class, earning him third overall on the day. Riordan would be behind Davis as he came through to earn second in the XC2 class and fourth overall on the day. 

Ashburn would continue to push after leading the first couple of laps as he crossed the finish line third in the XC1 Open Pro class, while earning fifth overall on the day. FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Dante Oliveira returned from the West Coast in what would be his first appearance since winning the Camp Coker Bullet GNCC. Oliveira would work his way up to finish fourth in the XC1 class and sixth overall on the day. 

Rockstar Energy Factory Husqvarna Racing’s Craig Delong did not get off to the best start as he came through timing and scoring on the opening lap back in the ninth place position. Delong would continue to push throughout the day making his way up to fifth in the XC1 class and seventh overall on the day.

After grabbing the holeshot and running at the front of the pack, Snodgrass would fall back to finish sixth in XC1 and eighth overall on the day. Phoenix Racing Honda’s Michael Witkowski had a good start to his day as he came through second on the opening lap of the race. Witkowski would fall back to tenth at one point, but he would make his way up back seventh in the XC1 results and ninth overall. 

Active Air/Max Motorsports/FXR/Husqvarna’s Evan Smith battled back from an eleventh place start to his day, to coming through the finish line eighth in the XC1 class and rounding out the top 10 overall finishers on the day. JS Sherco Racing’s Josh Strang found himself up at towards the front of the pack early on in the race, but he would cross the finish line after three-hours of battling ninth in XC1. 

Phoenix Racing Honda’s Cody Barnes would round out the top three XC2 250 Pro class finishers as he worked his way back up from a fifth place start to his day in the XC2 class. Babbitt’s Online/Monster Energy/Kawasaki Team Green’s Grant Baylor would come through to round out the top 10 XC1 Open Pro finishers on the day. 

As the WXC class took off in the morning race it was Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Korie Steede grabbing the $100 Kanati WXC Holeshot Award and the early lead. Steede would continue to push herself at the front of the pack, and lead from start to finish as she crossed the finish line 4.1 seconds ahead of her competition.

Battling her way up to second in the class was FMF KTM Factory Racing Lander’s Brandy Richards. Richards started her day in third, but she would make a last lap push to take over the second place position as the checkered flag came out. Moose Racing/Husqvarna’s Tayla Jones made her way back to the GNCC starting line this weekend. Jones would get off to a great start as she sat second for the first half of the race, but with a hard-charging Richards behind her she would be unable to hold her off for the last lap. Jones would come through to round out the top three WXC finishers.

2024 Mason-Dixon Park GNCC | Mount Morris, Pennsylvania
Round Eight Results & Standings

XC1 Pro Event Results
1. Jonathan Girroir
2. Steward Baylor
3. Jordan Ashburn
4. Dante Oliveira
5. Craig Delong
6. Lyndon Snodgrass
7. Michael Witkowski
8. Evan Smith
9. Josh Strang
10. Grant Baylor

Overall National Championship Standings
1. Jonathan Girroir | 207
2. Steward Baylor | 173
3. Grant Davis | 130
4. Jordan Ashburn | 126
5. Craig Delong | 118
6. Angus Riordan | 105
7. Grant Baylor | 100
8. Michael Witkowski | 92
9. Liam Draper | 69
10. Evan Smith | 66

XC2 250 Pro Event Results
1. Grant Davis
2. Angus Riordan
3. Cody Barnes
4. Toby Cleveland
5. Jason Lipscomb
6. Thad Duvall
7. Liam Draper
8. Brody Johnson

XC2 250 Pro Series Standings
1. Grant Davis | 216
2. Angus Riordan | 193
3. Liam Draper | 151
4. Cody Barnes | 121
5. Thad Duvall | 110
6. Brody Johnson | 99
7. Jason Lipscomb | 96
8. Ruy Barbosa | 94
9. Josh Toth | 93
10. Toby Cleveland | 91

Michael Antonovich

Michael Antonovich has a wealth of experience with over 10 years of moto-journalism under his belt. A lifelong racing enthusiast and rider, Anton is the Editor of Swapmoto Live and lives to be at the race track.

  • 1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *