Type to search


2024 Powerline Park GNCC | Race Report, Results & Recap Video


INSTAGRAM | @gncc_racing
INSTAGRAM | @mooseelite


PHOTOS | Husqvarna

The Grand National Cross Country Series continued its thirteen-round tour with the 2024 Powerline Park GNCC. The seventh round returned to a popular Ohio venue and once again proved why this year should be one of the most best ever for the East Coast off-roader, as the three-hour race ended with the defending champion getting his first win of 2024, just mere seconds ahead of the competition.

The 2024 Progressive Grand National Cross Country (GNCC Racing) Series presented by Specialized, an AMA National Championship, concluded its seventh round of racing, Kenda Powerline Park GNCC, yesterday on Sunday, May 12, 2024. The sun came out over the Ohio property, but the rain from Saturday continued to create slick conditions throughout the course for the day. 

When the green flag flew on the afternoon race it was Rockstar Energy Factory Husqvarna Racing’s Craig Delong jumping off the line to earn the $250 Steel City Medical Center holeshot award and making his way into the woods as he continued to battle for that number one spot. Coastal GASGAS Factory Racing’s Ryder Lafferty held the early lead, but the defending champion, Delong was hungry for a win and would make the move into the lead on the second lap of the race. 

Delong would continue to hold the lead as FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Jonathan Girroir made his way into second after a mid-pack start to the day. Girroir would continue to push to catch Delong, and by the last lap he was right on his back tire as they came through VP Racing Fuels Pro Row and made their way into the finish line area. Delong would be able to hold off Girroir, earning his first win of the 2024 season while Girroir came through 1.2 seconds behind him. 

After coming through in tenth on the opening lap, Babbitts Online/Monster Energy/Kawasaki Team Green’s Grant Baylor would continue to push for the extent of the race. Baylor would continue to make the necessary passes as he moved into fourth with two laps remaining in the race, however as he emerged from the woods and heading towards the checkered flag Baylor found himself sitting in the final podium position. Baylor crossed the line third overall on the day. 

Phoenix Racing Honda’s Michael Witkowski battled at the front for majority of the day as he came through in third at the halfway point of the race. Witkowski continued to push but was unable to hold off Baylor as he came through to take over third. Witkowski held onto finish fourth in Ohio. Rockstar Energy Factory Husqvarna Racing’s Trevor Bollinger would cross the line fifth in XC1 and seventh overall on the day after he would push himself from starting back in the ninth place position. 

Coming through eighth overall and sixth in XC1 was JS Sherco Racing’s Josh Strang as he battled back-and-forth throughout the day at Powerline Park. After hold the early lead, Coastal GASGAS Factory Racing’s Ryder Lafferty would find himself mid-pack at the halfway point of the race. Lafferty would finish the day seventh in XC1, and ninth overall. 

Babbitt’s Online/Monster Energy/Kawasaki Team Green’s Lyndon Snodgrass would come through to finish eighth in XC1 and 12th overall on the day. Active Air/Max Motorsports/FXR/Husqvarna’s Evan Smith came through behind Snodgrass to finish 13th overall and ninth in the XC1 Open Pro class. 

Rocky Mountain Red Bear Kawasaki’s Steward Baylor found himself having a rough day in the Ohio woods as he came through tenth in the XC1 Open Pro class and would be 15th overall on the day. Coastal GASGAS Factory Racing’s Jordan Ashburn was having a good ride as he held third on the opening lap, but after a mechanical issue that forced Ashburn to have an unexpected pit stop, he would be unable to make up much ground and come through eleventh in XC1 and 20th overall on the day. 

As the XC2 class took off it was FMF KTM Factory Racing Landers Grant Davis grabbing the $250 Steel City Medical Center holeshot award. Davis would continue to lead the way for the duration of the race, even working his way into the top three overall on adjusted time at one point in the race. Davis crossed the line in first just ahead of AmPro Yamaha’s Liam Draper who battled back-and-forth on the day to finish second in the XC2 class. FMF KTM Factory Racing Landers Angus Riordan was also running at the front, battling for a top three position for most of the race, Riordan would make the pass back into third with two laps remaining and push until he saw the checkered flag. 

When the WXC class took off it was Husqvarna-backed racer, Jocelyn Barnes earning the $100 Kanati Tires WXC Holeshot Award. However, it would be FMF KTM Factory Racing Lander’s Brandy Richards leading the way early on in the race. As the race continued on through the slick conditions after Saturday’s rain, Rockstar Energy Factory Husqvarna Racing’s Korie Steede would make her way up to Richards and battle for the lead position on the second lap. 

Steede would make her way past Richards and continue to hold the lead position until the checkered flag flew, earning her first win of the season. Richards would hold on to finish second in the WXC class and overall in the morning race. Rocky Mountain Red Bear Kawasaki’s Rachael Archer would continue to run at the front of the pack through the duration of the race but was unable to make a push for the number one spot. Archer would come through third to round out the top three WXC class finishers. 

2024 Powerline Park GNCC | Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Round Seventh Results & Standings

XC1 Pro Event Results
1. Craig Delong
2. Jonathan Girroir
3. Grant Baylor
4. Michael Witkowski
5. Trevor Bollinger
6. Josh Strang
7. Ryder Lafferty
8. Lyndon Snodgrass
9. Evan Smith
10. Steward Baylor

Overall National Championship Standings
1. Jonathan Girroir | 177
2. Steward Baylor | 148
3. Jordan Ashburn | 110
4. Grant Davis | 109
5. Craig Delong | 104
6. Grant Baylor | 92
7. Angus Riordan | 87
8. Michael Witkowski | 80
9. Liam Draper | 69
10. Trevor Bollinger | 66

XC2 250 Pro Event Results
1. Grant Davis
2. Liam Draper
3. Angus Riordan
4. Thad Duvall
5. Cody Barnes
6. Brody Johnson
7. Jason Lipscomb
8. Ruy Barbosa
9. Toby Cleveland

XC2 250 Pro Series Standings
1. Grant Davis | 186
2. Angus Riordan | 168
3. Liam Draper | 137
4. Cody Barnes | 100
5. Thad Duvall | 95
6. Ruy Barbosa | 94
7. Josh Toth | 93
8. Brody Johnson | 86
9. Jason Lipscomb | 80
10. Jesse Ansley | 78

Michael Antonovich

Michael Antonovich has a wealth of experience with over 10 years of moto-journalism under his belt. A lifelong racing enthusiast and rider, Anton is the Editor of Swapmoto Live and lives to be at the race track.

  • 1

You Might also Like