Type to search


2022 Supercross | AMA Announces Homologated & Approved Motorcycles


INSTAGRAM | @swapmotolive
INSTAGRAM | @swapmotolivedotcom
INSTAGRAM | @scottmotosports

The buildup to the Monster Energy Supercross Championship continues! The latest bulletin by the AMA outlines the motorcycles that have been homologated and approved for competition in 2022, a 32-bike index that includes standard-issue equipment, recently-released special editions, and a selection of two-stroke machines. Seven OEMs are represented, including Japan’s “Big Four” of Honda-Yamaha-Kawasaki-Suzuki and the KTM Group’s European alliance of KTM-Husqvarna-GASGAS. Although a handful of manufacturers have expressed interest in joining the list, most notably Beta, the final list did not include any new OEMs.

AMA regulations require the OEMs or their distributors to declare the motorcycles they intend to race ahead of each season (section 1.1 in the 2022 rule book). The mandate states that at least 400 units must be available for sale to the public, with a minimum of 200 bikes required to be in the US by March 1 and at least 400 units by June 1. Approval is only for a limited eligibility period, either five years or when the brand decides to pull its support of a particular model, and can be subject to change as the season continues. The displacement rules make it possible for a rider to use a four-stroke 250cc bike in the 450 Class, but a 250cc two-stroke is not allowed to race in the 250 Class. 

2022 Monster Energy Supercross Championship | Approved Motorcycle List

2021-2022 GASGAS MC 250F
2021-2022 GASGAS MC 125
2018-2022 Honda CRF250R
2022 Husqvarna FC250 Rockstar Edition
2018-2022 Husqvarna FC250
2018-2022 Husqvarna TC125
2018-2022 Kawasaki KX250
2022 KTM 250 SX-F Factory Edition
2021 KTM 250 SX-F TLD Edition
2018-2022 KTM 250 SX-F
2018-2022 KTM 125 SX
2018-2022 Suzuki RM-Z250
2018-2022 Yamaha YZ250F
2022 Yamaha YZ125

2021-2022 GASGAS MC 450F
2022 GASGAS MC 350F
2022 GASGAS MC 250
2019-2022 Honda CRF450R Works Edition
2018-2022 Honda CRF450R
2018-2022 Husqvarna FC450 Rockstar Edition
2018-2022 Husqvarna FC450
2018-2022 Husqvarna FC350
2018-2022 Husqvarna TC250
2022 Kawasaki KX450SR
2018-2022 Kawasaki KX450
2018-2022 KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition
2018-2022 KTM 450 SX-F
2018-2022 KTM 350 SX-F
2018-2022 KTM 250 SX
2018-2022 Suzuki RM-Z450
2018-2022 Yamaha YZ450F
2022 Yamaha YZ250

Michael Antonovich

Michael Antonovich has a wealth of experience with over 10 years of moto-journalism under his belt. A lifelong racing enthusiast and rider, Anton is the Editor of Swapmoto Live and lives to be at the race track.

  • 1

You Might also Like