Type to search


2022 AMA Supercross & Motocross Rider Numbers


INSTAGRAM | @swapmotolive
INSTAGRAM | @swapmotolivedotcom
INSTAGRAM | @scottmotosports

The American Motorcyclist Association has released the official number list for the 2022 Supercross and Pro Motocross racing series. Competitors have been ranked in relation to their total points scored while competing in the 250 or 450 Classes during the 2021 racing season; the best riders are rewarded with the champion’s number one plate in their respective region, others are allowed the option to pick a “permanent” for the remainder of their career, and most claim their status by whatever two-digits they’ve been assigned by the system.

Some notable things from the new list…

– Two riders that were “inactive” in 2021 requested to keep their numbers for another year: Chad Reed (22) and Justin Hill (46). We’re not quite sure a comeback is in the works for Reed, especially as he’s dives further into amateur MX with the family, but the allure of a packed stadium could be enough for CR22. As for Hill, we’ve heard that he’s at least considered getting back on the gate next year.

– Jo Shimoda, Jett Lawrence, Colt Nichols, and Hunter Lawrence all earned permanent numbers for their promising futures. Shimoda stuck with 30, Nichols chose 45, and Hunter Lawrence selected 96. Jett’s 250 MX title gave him the option to pick a single digit, but instead he remained with 18.

– Plenty of independent riders improved their rank thanks to solid results through the year, especially the summer’s injury-riddled Pro Motocross season, including Josh Varize (38), Justin Rodbell (55), Kevin Moranz (57), Ryan Surratt (58), Jeremy Hand (63), Ben LaMay (71), Cade Clason is (78), Hunter Schlosser is 79, Chris Canning (82), Jacob Runkles (88), Tyler Stepek (93), and RJ Wageman (99).

– Dylan Ferrandis remained with his now-known 14. This was somewhat of a surprise considering the 450 MX National champion’s option to pick one of the available digits as well as speculation that he would pick four, his former number in MX2, after Blake Baggett did not request to keep it another season.This is the second time that has Ferrandis turned down a one-digit.


1. 450SX Cooper Webb
1. 450MX Dylan Ferrandis
1. 250MX Jett Lawrence
1W 250 SX. Justin Cooper
1E 250 SX. Colt Nichols
*2. Cooper Webb
*3. Eli Tomac
*6. Jeremy Martin
*7. Aaron Plessinger
*9. Adam Cianciarulo
*10. Justin Brayton
*11. Kyle Chisholm
*12. Shane McElrath
*14. Dylan Ferrandis
*15. Dean Wilson
*16. Zach Osborne
*17. Joey Savatgy
**18. Jett Lawrence
*19. Justin Bogle
*20. Broc Tickle
*21. Jason Anderson
*22. Chad Reed
*23. Chase Sexton
*24. RJ Hampshire
*25. Marvin Musquin
*26. Alex Martin
*27. Malcolm Stewart
28. Christian Craig
29. Michael Mosiman
**30. Jo Shimoda
31. Jalek Swoll
*32. Justin Cooper
33. Austin Forkner
34. Max Anstie
35. Garrett Marchbanks
36. Maximus Vohland
37.  Coty Schock
38. Joshua Varize
39. Jarrett Frye
40. Dilan Schwartz
41. Brandon Hartranft
42. Ty Masterpool
43. Carson Mumford
44. Pierce Brown
**45. Colt Nichols
*46. Justin Hill
47. Seth Hammaker
48. Cameron McAdoo
49. Nate Thrasher
50. Stilez Robertson
*51. Justin Barcia
52. Kyle Peters
53. Martin Davalos
54. Mitchell Oldenburg
55. Justin Rodbell
56. Joshua Osby
57. Kevin Moranz
58. Ryan Surratt
59. Levi Kitchen
60. Thomas Do
61. Fredrik Noren
62. Vince Friese
63. Jeremy Hand
64. Mitchell Harrison
65. Grant Harlan
66. Chris Blose
67. Logan Karnow
68. Preston Kilroy
69. Robbie Wageman
70. Ramyller Alves
71. Ben LaMay
72. John Short
73. Benny Bloss
74. Derek Kelley
75. Luke Neese
76. Devin Simonson
77. Cedric Soubeyras
78. Cade Clason
79. Hunter Schlosser
80. Enzo Lopes
81. Jace Owen
82. Chris Canning
83. Tyler Bowers
84. Scott Meshey
85. Hunter Sayles
86. Wilson Fleming
87. Alex Ray
88. Jacob Runkles
89. Lane Shaw
90. Jordon Smith
91. Brandon Scharer
92. Jace Kessler
93. Tyler Stepek
*94. Ken Roczen
95. Justin Starling
**96. Hunter Lawrence
97. Jerry Robin
98. Dominique Thury
99. RJ Wageman

Michael Antonovich

Michael Antonovich has a wealth of experience with over 10 years of moto-journalism under his belt. A lifelong racing enthusiast and rider, Anton is the Editor of Swapmoto Live and lives to be at the race track.

  • 1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *